The 2015 Jackson Kayak Zen First Look

zen 1

So last week we had some exciting news, the 2015 Jackson Kayak Zen had finally arrived in the UK.  I was lucky enough to get my hands on one for the weekend. On first look the main things that I noticed was the flared sidewall and the ample bow rocker which is great for keeping the nose of the boat dry.

20150206_100614

As there was not much water down here in Cornwall, we decided to head up to Cardiff White Water Centre. The first thing that I noticed was the speed of the boat, it only took a few paddle strokes and it was cruising along. This is due to the Zen having a super-fast hull. The second thing that I noticed was how easy the boat was to turn on moving water as it snapped into eddys all the way down the course.

IMG_20150208_204907

All in all it was a great first outing for the Zen and I cannot wait to get the boat out on the water more over the next few weeks. It’s differently worth a paddle.

Catch you on the water

Alex Read

