Kit Review: Ophion Paddles

Untitled design (7)

I have been using Ophion paddles for around the last five years and I really love them, so I have written a little bit about them and why I like them.

‘Ophion paddles are all about creating high performance paddles to serve your passion, they are individually designed, hand-crafted and are made from the finest materials available. Ophion paddles are proud to be produced in Slovenia, just a stone throw away from the Soca River.’     www.ophionpaddles.com

I am currently using two different paddles from Ophion, one is the Katana All Star with an ergo power torque.

Untitled design (2)

This blade shape is design to be on the river for all aspects of white water kayaking from playboating to river running or creeking, it does everything. I have teamed this blade with the ergo torque shaft which from the photo you can see that the shaft’s crank puts the blade in front of the paddle.

Untitled design (5)

This means that you gain a greater reach out in front of your boat giving your strokes more power on the water. I have been using this combination for the whole white water season in the UK and loved them. Finding that I can drive the boat where it needs to go.

Untitled design (3)

Second I use the Katana trickstar with an ergo neutral bent shaft. This is the paddle that I use for playboating as the trickstar offers a blade that is perfectly balanced and aggressive at the same time making it great for freestyle moves.

Untitled design (8)

For more information on Ophion paddles check out www.ophionpaddles.com or if you are looking at trying some out check out www.squarerock.co.uk to find your local store stocking them in the UK.

Untitled design (6)

If you see us on the water and want to have a go just ask, we are more than happy to let you try them out!

Alex

One thought on “Kit Review: Ophion Paddles

Comments are closed.