Scotland 2015: Kit Planning

one month till scotland (1)

So with only 2 weeks till Pete and I head to Scotland its time to start getting our kit ready. In this post I am going to take a quick look at some of the kit that I will  be taking on our trip.

DrySuit Kayak Extreme 4L

Sweet Rocker: The rocker by sweet protection is a high performance helmet built for the roughest conditions.

Sandiline Extreme 4 layer Kayaking Drysuit: I have been using sandiline drysuits for around 5 years and they never disappoint. Featuring a breathable and waterproof 4 layer fabric with reinforced cordura on heavy wear points including knees, elbows and bottom make this a great hard wearing drysuit choice for white water trips.

Sandiline freeride PDF: This buoyancy aid has been designed for the most demanding white water conditions. This buoyancy aid has over 75N in the S/M or 90N in the L/XL so has plenty of float if you do have an unfortunate swim. It also features side buoyant foam that provides extra protection from side impacts and comes equipped with a large front pocket great for putting all your kit in and quick release system.

Sandiline Kevlar Spray Deck: This deck is a hard wearing white water spray deck with reinforced kevlar for added protection

Six six one elbow pads: While on white water I like to protect my elbows from impacts and I have found the ones from six six one great and work well on top of my drysuit.

Teva Water Shoes: Good footwear while on a white water trip is a must I have gone through many a pair to find ones that suit me. I really like these Teva ones they are flexible and have great grip to stop you falling in while walking on the river bank.

SAFTY KIT

The photo above shows a selection of the safety equipment I like to carry while on the water

IMG_5989

The photo above shows the boat that I will be taking to Scotland this year. It’s the new 2015 Jackson Kayak Zen. Jackson kayaks say that “The 2015 Zen bridges the gap between river runner and creek boat” This boat is a great boat for Scotland as it’s super fast and responsive. It offers a new tier in speed and performance while being so much fun to paddle.

One of the things I have added to the boat is some Jackson kayak sweet cheeks (photo below) as I am paddling the large Zen and due to my lack of height I like to be raised slightly in the boat. They also make the seat super comfy for long days white water boating.  

IMG_5993

For white water I like to use the Ophion paddles Katana (All Star) with the ergo power torque. More information about these paddles can be found in one of my previous posts click here.

IMG_6008IMG_6001

I hope you have found this post useful. As the we get closer to going away, we will keep you posted on training and other useful trip planning tips.

Catch you on the water,

Alex

